The SciFest National Final 2016 took place in the Marino Conference Centre, Dublin on Friday 11 November 2016. The programme for the day may be accessed here.

The overall winners from each of the 16 regional SciFest science fairs and 6 of the top runners-up exhibited their projects and competed for a number of awards, including the SciFest 2016 Science Foundation Ireland Grand Award - a trophy and an all-expenses-paid trip to Los Angeles, California to represent Ireland in the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) in May 2017.

SciFest National Final 2016 - Award Winners

SciFest 2016 Science Foundation Ireland Grand Award
Student      Caolann Brady
Project Hum Your Way to Better Health
School St. Wolstan's Community School, Celbridge, Co. Kildare
Teacher Karen O'Callaghan


Berlin Long Night of Science 2016 Award
Students Heather Murphy, Naoise Tobin                               
Project Sound Absorbing Paint
School Sutton Park School, Sutton, Dublin 13
Teacher Catherine Tattersall


SEAI INESPO 2016 Award
Students Ciara Mac Carthy, Claire Lemass
Project Caonach Cliste
School Our Lady's Bower, Athlone, Co. Westmeath
Teacher Ciaran Mac Carthy


Boston Scientific Medical Devices 2016 Grand Award
Students   Lucy Leonard, Michele Mann                                  
Project Investigating the Difference in Bacterial Contamination
when Handling and Using a Device to Insert
Contact Lenses
School Tullamore College, Tullamore, Co. Offaly
Teacher Elaine Howlin


THEA 2016 Award
Student     Seán Byrne
Project The Ugly Side of Beauty: An Investigation into Toxic
Chemicals used in Cosmetics
School Avondale Community College, Rathdrum, Co. Wicklow
Teacher Aoife Sullivan


ISTA 2016 Award
Student     Cora Twomey
Project Does Strongyloides Ransomi Exist on Irish Pig Farms?
School Davis College, Summerhill, Mallow, Co. Cork
Teacher Carol O’Sullivan


Spirit of SciFest 2016 Award
Students  Marie Keogh, Grace Hanneffy, Roisin McEvoy
Project Eco Dishes
School Mountrath Community School, Mountrath, Co. Laois
Teacher Dr Mary Kelly


Each of the 56 finalists was also presented with an Excellence in STEM Award to mark
their achievement in reaching the National Final of SciFest 2016.