SciFest 2011 was a huge success with 2907 students exhibiting 1243 projects in 14 venues throughout Ireland. This represented a 10% increase in the number of students participating compared to 2010. In the four years since SciFest was launched nationwide more than 9,000 students have exhibited projects.

Well done to all who participated – students, teachers, parents, judges and regional organisers. Thank you to all who sponsored prizes at each event and to all who played a role in making it possible.

There were lots of awards to be won at each SciFest event. The projects were of a very high standard so well done to all the deserving students who received awards. Click here to see the list of awards winners for each venue/Institute of Technology.

Seven major awards were presented at each Institute of Technology:

  • Intel Best Project Award
  • Abbott Runner-up Best Project
  • BT Best Communicator Award
  • NCE-MSTL Maths in Science Award (National Center Mathematics Science Excellence Teaching and Learning
  • PharmaChemical Ireland International Year of Chemistry 2011 Award
  • ESERO Ireland Discover Space Award * ( European Space Education Resource Office)
  • Discover Sensors Awards ** : two student awards – Winner Prize and Highly Commended Prize

Category prizes, highly commended, display, and communicator awards were also given and some of the Institutes of Technology presented trophies sponsored by the relevant Institute.


* Discover Space Award

At each Institute of Technology the judges were asked to identify the project which best used Space as a theme in science, technology or maths. Each of these projects was awarded One4All vouchers. The selected projects were then passed to a SciFest judging panel which will select an overall winner.  The winner will be awarded a trophy while the supervising teacher will receive a telescope. The trophy and telescope will be presented at the Celebration of Excellence in Science and Launch of SciFest 2012 to be held in Intel Ireland in October 2011.


** Discover Sensors Awards

As part of the Discover Sensors Awards the mentoring teachers of the winning projects at each Institute of Technology received One4All vouchers.

Congratulations to:

  • Margaret Mandal, Moate Community School, Co. Westmeath
  • Margaret Hourigan, St Mary's Secondary, Edenderry, Co. Offaly
  • Michelle Dunne, St Joseph’s College, Lucan, Co. Dublin
  • Louise Kearns, St Farnan's Post Primary School, Prosperous, Co. Kildare
  • Geraldine Waldron, Coláiste Lorcáin, Castledermot, Co. Kildare
  • Julie Gleeson, Coláiste Choilm, Ballincollig, Co. Cork
  • Dr Katie Corbett, Skerries Community College, Skerries, Co. Dublin
  • Niamh McNally, LoretoSecondarySchool, Balbriggan,Co. Dublin
  • John White, St Vincent’s Secondary School, Seatown, Dundalk, Co Louth           
  • Emma McMahon, Bush Post Primary School, Dundalk, Co. Louth
  • Mary Reynolds, Seamount College , Kinvara, Co. Galway
  • Ann Blanking, St Mary’s College, 35 Northland Road, Derry
  • Emma Kavanagh, Presentation Secondary School, Thurles, Co. Tipperary
  • Mary Lyons, Ennistymon CBS, Ennistymon, Co. Clare
  • G McCrory, Lumen Christi College, Bishop Street, Derry
  • Yvonne Higgins, Magh Ene College, Bundoran, Co. Donegal
  • Niall MahonThe King's Hospital, Palmerstown, Dublin 20,
  • Ciaran O’Connor, The King's Hospital, Palmerstown, Dublin 20
  • Michael Corridon, Causeway Comprehensive, Tralee, Co. Kerry
  • Jean Donlon, CBS, Wexford
  • Colette Ni Nuanain, Meánscoil San Nioclás, Dungarvin, Co. Waterford


Click the links below to see the names of the major award winners at each venue / Institute of Technology